Page 1 of 1

The reset button

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:05 pm
by tatticus
So what is the physical reset button actually for on the Arduino boards?

I've used a couple dozen BBB's in various art peices and anymore I don't even bother soldering in the reset button. My guess is possibly an Arduino's code will sometimes lock up and this will fix it? How would this be different from just unplugging the power supply and starting it back up though?

Am I tempting fate by omitting this button? Any ideas why I should have an acessible reset button? :?:

Re: The reset button

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:30 pm
by floresta
So what is the physical reset button actually for on the Arduino boards?
It causes the processor to run it's code from the beginning, much like it does when you first apply power. This is important when you are troubleshooting code and less important in a finished product.

Don

Re: The reset button

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:50 pm
by tatticus
Thanks Don.
That's what I was thinking/hoping but I wanted a more expert opinion.

Since I install these BBB boards directly in my pieces I've started accumulating a little container full of parts I've deemed un-needed for my applications. Lots of headers, the led and it's resistor, the power jack, and these reset switches are all piling up now.

Re: The reset button

Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:29 am
by steve smith
Hello
you are right tatticus.
Since I install these BBB boards directly in my pieces I've started accumulating a little container full of parts I've deemed un-needed for my applications. Lots of headers, the led and it's resistor, the power jack, and these reset switches are all piling up now.
best regards
steve smith

Re: The reset button

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:43 pm
by paul
If you can't physically get to the reset switch it's useless for sure.

Paul

Re: The reset button

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:38 am
by Quirker
Is there any workaround for this, Paul?

Re: The reset button

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:56 am
by paul
Just add a switch somewhere on the piece and run wires back to where the missing reset switch is. If that's not the answer you were looking for, then you need to put a little more detail in your question please.