Page 1 of 1

stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:29 pm
by ungood
I have a BBB Revision E (read right off the board) bought from moderndevice.com as well as the USB BUB (no revision). I am using the 0013 Alpha version of the IDE.

The USB BUB is recognized by my computer (Windows) when it is plugged in, and I have changed the settings on the port to 115200 baud and turned on "Set RTS on close."

The BBB works, it goes through the blinky debug when power is connected (but not when the reset button is pressed) and it seems to be running a 500ms on / 500ms off program right now.

However, whenever I try to upload a simple program, I get the following error message:

Binary sketch size: 1406 bytes (of a 14336 byte maximum)
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

Any ideas what is wrong here?

Re: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:10 pm
by ungood
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhh... I didn't know that there was a new chip in the Rev E. Setting my board to use the 328 solved everything.

Could've used a heads up on this, though I appreciate the new chip :)

Re: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:03 am
by paul
Sorry about that ungood, there was supposed to be a label in the bag about the 328 chip. Maybe yours got shipped without.

I take it you figured out correct settings. This issue seems to be baffling a lot of people getting new Arduino boards shipping with 328's too.

FYI - The BUB doesn't require the "set RTS on close" thing, since it uses the DTR line, the same as the official Arduino schematics.

Paul

Re: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:36 am
by ungood
Heh... I think I folded up that little label and used it to prop something up while soldering the board <_< D'oh!

I did get all the settings correct and now have a LED that is blinking every 100ms - Woo! :)

Thanks for your time.

Re: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 5:10 pm
by technoplastique
I'm getting the same thing, but my chip says '168' on it. It works when it's plugged into the wall, and the BUB lights up when I plug it into the computer, but when I try to send over the blink program I don't get anything. I'm on Windows XP, I checked all the settings and I'm out of ideas on what to check. Suggestions? Thanks!

Re: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 5:33 pm
by technoplastique
Never mind! Stupid mistake :oops:

Re: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 5:52 pm
by AViRdi
Hi

I am getting the same error when trying to upload the blink program to ATMega168. Can someone please help?

avirdi

Re: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 9:33 pm
by paul
AViRdi,

Check the Arduino Tools - Serial port menu for a new com port - usually the highest number. Try plugging unplugging the BUB to see if the Com port goes away. If not, then you need to install the FTDI drivers in the Arduino folder.

Check the boards menu and chose Duemilanove / Deicimila w Atmega 168 .

Try again and write back if it doesn't work.

Paul

FYI - The BUB doesn't require messing with "Set RTS on close" - only the FTDI cable.

Re: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 7:15 pm
by AViRdi
Hi Paul,

Thank you for your reply. Actually, I forgot to mention that I am using my STK500 to program ATmega168 (with arduino bootloader). This may be a wrong place to ask, but thank you for your concern. Still, if you can help, I would really appreciate that, Anyone?

AViRdi

Re: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 8:48 pm
by paul
If you are using an stk500 with the isp port ( the 3x2 straight header), you are not using, and will end up writing over, the bootloader. You can still do this but you need to poke around the Arduino site to find out how to burn sketches directly to the chip through the isp header, with the Arduino IDE.

Paul